The Complete Knight’s Cross Vol 2


10 May 2022

Subtitled, The Years of Stalemate 1942-1943, this is the second in the three book series that chronicles all the winners of the Knight’s Cross. The entries are listed chronologically, as they were awarded, but thankfully there’s an index that lists the winners alphabetically so researchers know where to look to find a particular person. The details are often little more than name, rank, place of award and place of death, but here and there are ones with more fleshed out stories which make for fascinating reading.

The author addresses disputed awards including someone who never actually existed and another who was a PoW working for the Russians. Despite the confusing introduction where the author says this is the fourth book in the Complete series, even though it’s the second, it’s forming a comprehensive and invaluable guide for researchers and enthusiasts.  

Fonthill Media
ISBN 978-1-7815-5782-2
596 pages. Hardback. £40



Can't get to the newsagents for your copy of The Armourer? Order it online (now with free postage!) or take out a subscription and avoid the general public for the next 12 months entirely. And if you're confined to quarters, stock up on some bookazines to keep you entertained.

Buy the latest copy or any back issues, either in print or digital editions by clicking on The Armourer.

Content continues after advertisements

It's our latest bookazine, Tanks of WWII, a 164-page guide to the tanks, commanders and battles of WWII. With over 170 tank prototypes, variants, models from the Axis and Allied nations, plus blueprints, rare photos and 3D illustrations. This collector's bookazine can be yours for just £9.99. Click here for your copy.

Celebrate the heroes of the Battle of Britain with a commemorative bookazine, with colour images throughout, for £8.99. Get your 164 page copy here.

Buy a copy of Aircraft of the RAF, featuring 595 flying machines, for £7.99 by clicking here.

Or how about a copy of the Collecting German Militaria bookazine for £7.99? Click here to buy this.


Content continues after advertisement